To departing Hillel Yeshiva Faculty and Staff,
The contributions you have made during your time at Hillel are appreciated, and we wish you every success in your future endeavors. As per Hillel Yeshiva's policy, your school Google account will be disabled at the end of the Academic Year (June 30) and deleted at the end of July. This is a standard procedure for departing employees to ensure data security and compliance.
In the event that you need to access your account for any reason, please reach out to Sarah Hazan, Hillel's Director of Human Resources (shazan@hillelyeshiva.org), before the account is deleted. She will be able to assist you further and provide guidance on how to regain access or retrieve any information you may require. Once account deletion occurs, the data will be irretrievable.
What you should do before the last day of school
- Make sure all of your Hillel-owned technological equipment is in good working order. Please open a ticket to report anything that is in need of repair.
- Set up an auto-reply/vacation message in Gmail to share your non-Hillel email address with anyone who emails you before your accounts are removed.
What you should do by June 25 at the absolute latest
- Clean up your digital files
- Start by deleting any files you absolutely don't need, and organizing the rest.
- If you have important files on your Desktop, move them to your Google Drive.
- If you have important departmental files in your Google Drive...
- place them in a departmental Team Drive,
- or transfer ownership to a colleague or administrator.
- Move your Google account data to your personal accounts, if necessary, following the process outlined below.
Taking your data with you
If you don't take steps to export and save your data files, they will be lost forever.
You have two options for getting your data out of our systems, Google Takeout and Google Transfer:
- Google Takeout will allow you to download your data from Google to your own computer. You can then use it in another application or service. Using this tool means you can export all of your different kinds of data, but you'll have to figure out where to use it later.
- Google Transfer is a simpler process that copies data from your school account to any other Google account (like, for example, a new Gmail account you create for just this purpose). The downside is that Transfer will only allow you to save your Email and the contents of your Drive; you can't transfer anything else, like Photos, Contacts, or Calendar data.
Short version: Transfer is easier; Takeout is more comprehensive. There are instructions for both methods at the end of this article.
Here are some pointers on making this entire process work well for you:
- Do the data transfer now; do not wait. At the very least, put a reminder in your calendar to do the transfer in the next few days. Leave yourself time to try again if (when?) something goes wrong.
- You have to do this on a real computer, from home. Phones, tablets, and Chromebooks will not work properly for this purpose.
- Read all of the directions before you start, so you know what to expect.
- Do some cleanup first. You have some important items in your Drive... and a bunch of Untitled Documents that you don't care about. Create a folder called "Stuff to Save" and start filling it with the things you actually want to keep. There is probably a lot less of it than you think.
- Download things in manageable chunks, because you have a LOT of data/documents/email/etc. Do your emails in one session, your Drive in the next, and photos in the third (you get the idea).
Important email information: if you used your Hillel address for any personal or professional subscriptions, make sure to change them to your current, personal, non-Hillel address.
It is really going to happen: your account will be deactivated. In the end, saving this data is your responsibility. Please do not ignore it.
Google Takeout
Google Takeout lets you export and download your data to use elsewhere. You will set up the transfer, wait for it to happen, and then receive an email with a link to download the data.
First, choose which products to include:
- Visit the Google Takeout page. You might have to sign in to your Google Account.
- Choose which Google products to include in your download. To see more details and options for a product, select the down arrow.
- Select Next.
- Choose your archive's File type. Usually, ZIP is the best format to choose.
Next, choose how your archive is delivered
- For "Delivery method," select Send download link via email.
- Choose Create archive.
- In the email that arrives, click Download archive.
- To download your data, follow the onscreen instructions.
When your archive is created, you'll receive an email with a link to its location. Depending on the amount of information in your account, this process could take a few minutes or several hours. Most people get the link to their archive the same day that they request it.
Google Transfer
Google Transfer lets you copy certain files from your Hillel Yeshiva Account directly into another Google Account. The files you can transfer are:
- Email in Gmail (not contacts, chats, or tasks)
- Documents that you own in Google Drive (except files in the "Google Photos" section of Drive)
- Documents in My Drive
To transfer your files
- On your school account, go to the Google Transfer Page.
- Enter the email address of the Google Account where you want to copy your content.
- Select Send code.
- On your (non-school) Google Account, check your Gmail inbox for a confirmation email from Google. In the email, select Get confirmation code. A new tab will open with a code.
- On your school account, go back to the "Transfer your content" page. Enter the code, then choose Verify.
- Choose the content you'd like to copy, then select Start transfer.
Details about the copy process
- The copy process usually happens within a few hours, but it can take up to a week.
- Copied files will appear in batches on your Google Account during the copy process.
- When your files are finished copying, you'll get an email at your Gmail address.
See your copied files
To see the files you've copied, sign in to Gmail or Google Drive with your Google Account.
- Gmail: Copied content will have a label with your school account name and the date you started the copy process.
- Drive: Copied content will be in a folder labeled with your school account name and the date you started the copy process.
What changes on copied files
There are a few important changes that happen on files copied from Google Drive:
- You automatically become the file owner of all of the copies. (The owners of the original files remain the same.)
- Copied files aren't shared with others. (You can always choose to share them.)
- Comments are copied, but revision history isn't.